boyhost.blogg.se

Macbook air external hard drive not showing up
Macbook air external hard drive not showing up












macbook air external hard drive not showing up
  1. MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP FOR MAC
  2. MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP INSTALL
  3. MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP UPDATE
  4. MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP PRO
  5. MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP SOFTWARE

  • Open Disk Utility then select the hard drive from the sidebar.
  • Open Disk Utility then select the greyed out hard drive from the sidebar.
  • Mount the external hard drive from Disk Utility.

    MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP PRO

    Read Case Study: Whooping 94% data recovered from unmounted external drive on MacBook Pro Swap the hard drive with a different case if you presume it to be faulty.Check the LED light to ensure the storage device is powered on and working.Connect external power source if the hard drive requires one.Replace the USB cable or adapter in case you suspect it to be damaged.Connect the hard drive to a different USB port or a different Mac.Reconnect the USB connector or adapter to fit the hard drive snugly.Fix External Hard Drive Connectivity IssueĮnsure proper connectivity of your external hard drive to your Mac. For MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, or MacBook with non-removable battery-press and hold Shift + Control + Option + Power Button for 10 seconds.ģ.For iMac, Mac Pro/mini, or laptop with a removable battery-detach the power cable or take out the battery then press and hold the Power button for 5 seconds.Reset SMC (System Management Controller) on your Mac.

    macbook air external hard drive not showing up

  • Restart Mac then immediately press and hold Option + Command + P + R keys until you hear a second chime.
  • I ended up returning the computer at that point to Big Blue, but am going to try my luck with the same model in space grey.Reset NVRAM (Non-volatile RAM) & PRAM (Parameter RAM). I restarted, and the flashing question mark folder came back. It finally booted but unfortunately to the recovery installer window. Rebooted into Startup Manager with my Thumb Drive - erased the internal drive that was still detected - and was able to successfully run a fresh install. The internal hard drive was being detected so I decided I was going to do a fresh OS install.

    MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP SOFTWARE

    This time I checked for the software updates to see if they had been corrupted but it indicated that they had been installed. Force restarted and was having the same issues.Īnother 20 tries of doing everything above, in no particular order, with and without anything connected (bluetooth, USB C, thumb drive with installer, etc.) the internal hard dive was detected again. For about another 30 minutes, came bake to a frozen screen.

    macbook air external hard drive not showing up

    I verified it, ran repair, and choose it as the Startup Disk. The next time I was in disk utility, I could finally see the internal hard drive. Ran Apple Hardware Test (Hold R on startup) – This showed a passing ADP000 reference code.Disk utility also still shows no internal hard drive.

    MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP INSTALL

    Booted from Thumb Drive ( Create a bootable installer for macOS - Apple Support) using the Apple USB C AV Multipart Adapter, but I still had no internal disk showing up to install the OS on in the installation menu.The only drive that is listed is the drive for the Internet Recovery OS install.

    macbook air external hard drive not showing up

    When I go into Disk Utility to try and repair, my internal drive is not listed at all.

  • Ran Recovery mode (Hold CMD+R on startup) - This got me to the typical 4 option boot up menu when installing OSX.
  • Instead gives a black screen with the wifi selection, which of course sets me up with internet recovery mode.
  • Ran Startup Manager (Hold Option on startup) - Did not give me the typical option to boot from Hard Drive.
  • Ran verbose mode (Hold CMD+V on startup) - Didn't work, question mark folder still flashing.
  • Ran safe mode (Hold Shift key on startup) - Didn't work, question mark folder still flashing.
  • Reset NVRAM (Hold CMD+,OPT+P+R) - Seemed to take a little while longer than normal than my 2011 MBP, but was successful in getting the second chime.
  • MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP FOR MAC

    I was really scratching my head my google searches led me to finding it was not an uncommon issue on older computers where it was the result of a bad cable from the hard drive to the mother board, but this model's HD is directly soldered to the MB I believe.īased on this apple resource: Startup key combinations for Mac - Apple Support, I tinkered around and briefly got my internal hard drive detected. OS Installs didn't have a disk to install. To summarize my whole story: the internal hard drive couldn't be detected, even in Disk Utility. Tried again and again, couldn't boot and still had the question mark folder. I rebooted and I got a flashing question mark folder.

    MACBOOK AIR EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE NOT SHOWING UP UPDATE

    A software update notification came up and I gave it a go ahead. Just unpackaged an early 2016 silver Macbook (Model A1534).














    Macbook air external hard drive not showing up